Early Switch Adopters Get to Try Splatoon 2 for Free... Sort Of
Author: Sam Tree | Posted: 13 February 2017, 14:23
 
 

Players who pick up a Nintendo Switch during March will have the option to take part in the Splatoon 2 ‘Global Testfire Event’ which will take place over the course of three days.

Ahead of the summer launch window, Switch owners will be able to download a free demo of Splatoon 2 during a three-day event in March to test out the new entry in the ink-shooter series. Players will have the chance of testing our four different main weapons, including the new Splat Dualies as well as remixed versions of the Splat Roller and Splat Charger.

Players looking to try it out on their brand-new consoles can do so during the below times:

Friday, March 24th

  • 8:00pm – 8:59pm CET (7pm – 7:59pm GMT)

Saturday, March 25th

  • 4:00am – 4:59am CET (3am – 3:59am GMT)
  • 12:00pm – 12:59pm CET (11am – 11:59am GMT)
  • 8:00pm – 8:59pm CET (7pm – 7:59pm GMT)

Sunday, March 26th

  • 5:00am – 5:59am CEST (4am – 4:59am GMT)
  • 1:00pm – 1:59pm CEST (12pm to 12:59pm GMT)

In addition to this announcement, during the Tokaigi Game Party Japan 2017 event, which took place over the weekend in Tokyo, Hisashi Nogami the series producer for Splatoon also confirmed some new details on the upcoming sequel.

He announced a new Private Battle spectator View mode will be available to allow players to view battles from varying angles. It is designed to enable players to participate as a cameraman of sorts. Players who are equipped with their own capture devices can also use this mode to stream games from a commentator’s perspective – amateur eSports, anyone?

This mode will also be usable in the newly announced LAN Play feature allowing up to ten docked Switch consoles (eight players and two spectators) to communicate via wired LAN, such as in a tournament setting. Eight players can still play via local wifi mode for a more casual experience.

“Two years have passed since the original Splatoon and since then, the weapons, maps and characters in that world have evolved. Through the Splatoon 2 Global Testfire event this March, players will be able to get a taste of that. There will be more new features to Splatoon 2, so please look forward to more reveals in the future,” noted Nogami.

If you’re picking up a Switch in March, will Splatoon 2 be one of the games on your list? Or, like me, will you be trying out the demo before making any decisions? Let us know in the comments below.

 

You Might Also Enjoy:
  • Shooty Fruity Announced For All Major VR Platforms
  • Visually Striking forma.8 Coming to Nintendo Switch Next Week
  • We Happy Few Coming to Xbox One, PC and PlayStation 4 in 2018
  • New The Evil Within 2 Trailer Shows Not All Monsters are Supernatural
  • Ubisoft Showcases Rabbid Luigi in New Gameplay Trailer
  • Baja: Edge of Control HD Release Date Announced
  • Nyko Announce Two New Charging Accessories for the Nintendo Switch

  •  

     
     
    Short Link & Tags
    Twitter
    Advertisment

     
    Site Navigation

    About Us
    Contact Us
    Staff
    Affiliate
    Review Framework
    Special Thanks
    Our Friends

    Bowser's Shrine
    Nintendo Castle
    Gaming Reinvented
    Masters of Nothing
    The Gaming Row
    GameZinger
    Become One